About Us

Map of Montgomery County, OhioMontgomery County Ohio College Promise was founded in 2010 with the goal of providing a life-changing opportunity for 500 students within the community over a 10-year period. The program met the original goal and has continued beyond its initial 10 cohorts. These students, whose lives have been impacted by poverty, are identified and selected during their eighth-grade year. Each student is supported during high school by a caring adult mentor who meets with them on a weekly basis at their high school and through programming offered by the College Promise Program.

The selected students, upon the successful completion of high school and meeting the entrance requirements of the partner college or university, are awarded scholarships that allow them to attend college at little to no cost to them or their families. Partner colleges and universities include: Antioch College, Central State University, Denison University, Kettering College, Miami University, Miami University Regionals, Ohio Northern University, Ohio University, Sinclair Community College, the University of Dayton, Wilberforce University, Wilmington College, Wittenberg University, and Wright State University.

View Our Recent Annual Reports

2023 Annual Report
2022 Annual Report
2021 Annual Report
2020 Annual Report

Download A Brochure


Photo of John and Connie TaylorBefore Montgomery County Ohio College Promise was launched, a fundraising goal of 6.2 million dollars was set.  In 2010, this goal was met by individual donors and organizations within the community.  To date, 251 donors have contributed to the success of the program for over 9 million dollars.

A $20,000 donation will sponsor a student to participate.  That money contributes to the operation of the program and higher education costs once a student graduates from high school.

College Promise is a fund of The Dayton Foundation and follows best practices in terms of gift-giving.  In whatever amount you can give, please consider donating to this great cause!